Posted by: pt | November 1, 2008

OF MICE AND MEN

“The best-laid plans of mice and men often go awry…”

From the poem To a Mouse by Robert Burns

 

They were literally best-laid plans.  They seemed so real, so certain, so definite.  Yet this morning I found myself waking up in my bed alone.  Nobody next to me.  I’d been had once again…

 

I thought for sure this time would be different.  I was thinking about it as I ran the night before she was to arrive.  I’m due, I thought to myself.  My luck is due to turn around for the better.  Getting my ass kicked by sinus surgery and a sexual harassment accusation was brutal, but like always, I got past it.  Perseverance.  My specialty. 

 

It started out simply enough.  Out of boredom, I found myself in a Florida Yahoo chat room.  There’s a lot of fantasy going on in those rooms and, of course, I was looking for some reality.  And lo and behold as if upon chance, I met someone in there.  I asked her where she lived in Florida, and she said she’s actually from southern California.  I asked her why she was in the Florida chat room, and she said she had some nurse training and was coming to Miami for the first time.  She was looking for suggestions on things to do.  So being the nice person that I am, I started giving her a bunch of restaurants, bars, clubs, etc. on South Beach where she would be staying.  She was very appreciative.  I asked her that if she needed a tour guide, I’d volunteer.  She said she might take me up on it.

 

So we chatted some more.  And some more.  And what started out as some innocent banter turned into an interesting adventure.  We went from maybe drinks, to drinks, to drinks and dinner, to drinks, dinner, and a sleepover.  I was to be her Halloween date.  We exchanged pictures, and she was very cute.  Not fake cute, but genuinely cute.  Now somewhere after all this was established I found out one more tidbit.  And here’s where you kill me.  She’s married.  29 and married.  I didn’t hold it against her that she was.  She even asked me if I had issues with that.  I asked her if her marriage lacked passion and sex.  I expected a yes, but I got a no.  Hmmm.  Yet she still wanted to be with me.  A bit odd, I thought.  But I promised myself that if life’s adventures come my way, I’d risk it.  And as you know, I typically get burned.  And although I’ve been down these murky waters before, THIS TIME, it felt right. 

 

We had been chatting all week about our weekend plans to hang out and all the fun stuff we were going to do Friday for Halloween.  I lined up a bunch of hot spots for us.  A long night of partying late into the dawn.  She asked me if I’d stay with her.  Hmm, sex was definitely on the menu.  She was to arrive Wednesday, and we both decided we couldn’t wait until Friday so we decided to meet upon her arrival.  I made a reservation at a cool restaurant and she once again invited me to stay the night.

 

It all seemed too perfect.  She was due to arrive around 3 pm and call me shortly thereafter.  When I didn’t hear from her, I started wondering whether all this was indeed too perfect.  It was.  I checked yahoo around 5 pm.  I saw the following offline message:

 

Mrs Perfect (10/29/2008 11:43:29 AM): are u on? I had a family emergency last night, my dad went into the hospital. Im not going to make it today.

 

Now first of all, I got what I deserved.  I’ll admit that.  The last time I was to meet someone, they gave me the same excuse.  Family emergency, can’t make it.  So as much as I don’t want to believe this whole thing was a fake, all signs point to it once again.  I’ve yet to hear from her since.  The disappointment I felt reading that message went straight through my heart.  It’s a familiar empty feeling.  I’m such a believer in people.  I want to believe what she says is true.  But past history doesn’t put the odds in my favor.  So it’s likely just another huge letdown and disappointment.  All this swirled around in my mind as I sat home last night listening to rowdy Halloween party revelers.  And again as I went to bed and woke up alone.  That’s when Burns’ famous line hit me.  I think I was the mouse he was referring to.  Well, at least my new blog is aptly named.

Responses

  1. I don’t know that I’d say you “got what you deserved.” It’s not your job to babysit her marriage. Still, it sounds like it was probably for the best. You don’t need that kind of crappy karma.

  2. I’m not sure I understand why you would bother with someone who is married. Wait…maybe I do 😉 just kidding, just kidding.

    If nothing else some good material to post about, but then again I’m sure you’ve got plenty of that. Seems like you’re OK {hug}

  3. […] PERILS OF ONLINE CHATTING When I last posted, I told you guys the cruel story of California Girl.  That one hit me hard.  I still haven’t heard a word from her.  I don’t know if I’m […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

